Trust News


February 1, 2024

Our new Future Leaders

Read the latest news from Cathedral Music Trust

Cathedral Music Trust has today announced the appointment of a new cohort of Future Leaders, who will work with the organisation to shape the future of cathedral music in the UK and beyond.

We welcome James Bartlett, Nicholas Bown, Isobel Chesman, Alistair Donaghue, Charlotte Gauthier, Iris Lam, Meg Rees, Jordan Theis, Ben Thompson, David Whitworth and Daisy Widdicombe to the team.


2023 saw the Future Leaders organise its inaugural event in London, the ‘Big Alumni Evensong’, which saw former choristers and choral scholars join forces for a special service of Evensong, under the direction of our Ambassador, Anna Lapwood.

In 2024, the group will be establishing a Future Leaders’ Network, to offer networking and professional development opportunities to young people working within the sector, and former choir members looking to stay engaged with the tradition. In addition, 2024 will include the Cathedral Music: New Generation Perspectives conference in Salisbury, which will form part of the Future Leaders’ Programme supporting emerging scholars and early career cathedral music specialists. Further details on both initiatives will be announced soon.

Thanks must go to the outgoing Future Leaders – Thomas Allery, Daniel Maw, Eilidh Owen and Rupert Scarratt – for their contributions to the Trust and the wider cathedral music scene over the past two years. A special mention to Imogen Morgan who steps down from the role of Co-Chair having made great strides in establishing the Future Leaders as essential to the work of Cathedral Music Trust alongside Lizzie Leather, who continues as Chair for the coming year.

We look forward to working with the new and existing Future Leaders towards our mission. Together, more lives will be transformed through cathedral music.